I Thought of Jill Carroll The Other Night…

Standard

As I was going to sleep, she popped into my head.  It wasn’t really a surprise since people pop into my head all the time.  I imagined her in a dark room, but it was late here [and therefore dark] and since she has to wear the headscarf, I imagine that wearing a hood feels dark even if you can see.

I must confess, I wondered if something had happened to her.  I’ve never had visions of the future or anything, but I still wondered since I was falling asleep and then I was wide awake and thinking about Jill Carroll.

I did the only thing I could, I prayed for her and her captors.  I don’t care what anyone says, prayer makes a difference.  Often, the person it changes is me, but sometimes, I think God changes the circumstances, too.  You could argue that it was going to happen that way regardless, but since I believe in God, I’ll give him the credit.

The frustrating thing about reporters being kidnapped is that we are all pretty desensitized to it.  Reporters go to other countries and sometimes get more than a story.  Sometimes they are injured, killed, or kidnapped.  And we kind of say, “You know what?  He knew when he went there that death or kidnapping was a risk, so it’s on his own head what happens to him.”

But the thing is, Jill is a friend to many, and a beloved daughter to her parents.  And so are all the other reporters who have been kidnapped or died while getting the story.  They’re people, just like you and me, and Jill Carroll has been sitting and waiting for two months.

She has been living under the spectre of death, in darkness, for two months.  She wakes up every morning and wonders, “Is this the day they let me go, or the day they kill me?”  I can’t imagine what it feels like to be in that situation, and I shudder to think about my own kids being in a similar predicament.

Please continue to pray for Jill and her captors.  Pray that our state department will do something to help secure her release.  I understand that we can’t give in to demands from the kidnappers, but there has to be some way to work something out with them.  Some way to make them understand that Jill is an innocent who doesn’t deserve to die because her home country is run by bloodthirsty hypocritical bullies.

There has to be a way to stop this madness, guys.  I wish my brain was a lot bigger and that I could figure out how, but damn, we need to find peace.  This war has gone on for three years, and thousands upon thousands of innocent people have died because of sanctions against Iraq since the first Gulf War, and in the current blood bath.

When does it end?  How do we stop it?  Without a miracle from God, W. isn’t going to stop.  He believes he’s doing the right thing, and somehow he believes that the American People are all supporting him, regardless of what the polls say.

I’m praying that if there is any part of W. that is still seeking God, that still wants even a little bit to obey His will, that God will speak to that part of W. and begin a change of heart that will end this madness.

I’m also praying that the American People will wake up and see that we have a responsibility to speak out against the real evil that sits in our White House.

I’m praying that God will work a miracle in the kidnappers’ hearts as well.  That he will help them see that Jill is not their enemy, and killing her will accomplish nothing but more needless pain.

And I’m praying that God will be with Jill and give her the peace that only he knows how to give. That his presence will be a constant companion, and that she will feel our prayers and positive, protective thoughts surrounding her and keeping her safe.  And that God will see fit to bring Jill home safely.

Doug, Blue Gal, and Jurassic Pork have all been thinking about Jill as well.  In fact, they’re the reason I’m doing this again.  I realize I only have five or six regulars, but every little bit helps, so please pray for Jill.  Write to your Representative, Senator, and our State Dept.  Stand up and be counted, people.  Each voice matters, let’s do all we can to make sure that another isn’t silenced forever.

 

*It took me 20 minutes to write two e-mails, one to the state dept, and the other to my representative.  I will write both of my senators as well, but I wanted to let you know that it doesn’t take much time to send an e-mail.  Please consider it.*

3 responses »

Leave a Reply

