Sleepwalker

Standard

The other night I was sitting at the computer when suddenly, I heard my son cry and squeal as if he were in pain.  I went to check on him, but when I got to the kitchen, he was already there. 

He was standing by the fridge, so I asked him if he was okay.  He grunted and held out his hand.  I figured his hand had fallen asleep, so I took it and squeezed it a little [which sounds horrible, but if you squeeze or stomp the offending appendage, it wakes up faster 😉 I couldn’t very well stomp on my son’s hand, now could I?]

So anyway, I asked him if he needed a drink, and noticed something very strange about his eyes. He wasn’t really answering my questions, and I noticed that while his eyes were pointing in my direction, they weren’t really focusing on me.  They seemed to be tracking sideways [back and forth, like he was watching a tennis match or a car race on TV.]

Then I laughed out loud, because I realized that he wasn’t even awake.  I laughed and told him as much, and he scowled at me, turned, and went to sit on the couch.  I was still trying to get him to take a drink [I don’t know why, I guess I still thought he was thirsty since he’d ended up by the refrigerator]. 

He curled up on the couch, but his horizontal sensor must have been off because he was trying to lay on the back of the couch [you know, the vertical part?] 

He was grunting like he was frustrated with the couch for standing up when he wanted it to lay down, so I put a pillow behind him and told him to lay down [then I kinda pushed him in the right direction].

Then I covered him up and told him I’d put him back in bed later.  The moment his head hit the pillow, his eyes closed, and we didn’t hear from him for the rest of the night.

So today during lunch, I asked him if he had any weird dreams last night. He kinda rolled his eyes and said [very seriously] “I don’t dream about real stuff and real places, Mom.  It’s all just pretend.” 

The boy is a big goof, but very serious when he’s having a conversation, and very literal.  He likes to make jokes, but if an adult makes one, he kinda gives you this look like you’re clueless when it comes to the finer points of humor.

He’s five, so he didn’t really get what I was asking, and we spent the next few minutes listening to his dreams of monsters and whatnot from probably a year ago. 

When we finally explained to him that he had been up walking around in his sleep last night, and he understood what we were saying, he got this sheepish grin on his face like he couldn’t believe he’d done something so silly[the absolute cutest!  Which is another horrible thing, because he was a little bit embarrassed, but his reaction was hilarious, so we let him squirm a little].

But we didn’t make him feel like we were making fun of him, which is a big no no in our house.  We don’t humiliate each other, but we do tease.  There’s a line there, you know?  If he had started to get upset, we would have stopped and made sure that he understood that we thought he was cute, not stupid or weird for sleepwalking.

So anyway, it was a little weird trying to talk to my son, then realizing that he was up walking around and had no clue what was going on.  Steve did the same thing when he was a kid, and used to freak his mom out.  I don’t think I ever walked in my sleep, but this is one to remember, and I fully intend to blackmail my little man when he’s a teenager!

Mwahahaahaaahahaa!!!!

About Shelbi

Work-at-home wife, mom of three kids, and caregiver for my brother, who has Cerebral Palsy. Never a dull moment, in other words. No idea how much I'll post, since I'm super busy these days, but maybe I'll get over here once in a while.

4 responses »

  1. I’m not sure this will post, but anyway…

    I laughed when I read about what Matthew said and how you described him as very literal—-so true. I think I’ve told you this, but—-
    I’ll never forget when I had him in class at church and told him he should tell his chair to be nicer to him because he had just fallen out of it and was starting to get upset (I knew he wasn’t really hurt or anything, so I was trying to make him laugh by telling him to tell the chair to be nicer) It didn’t work at all. He just looked at me and said, “Robin, chairs aren’t real.” And that was that–no more trying to joke (in that kind of way) with Mr. Matt. He’s so cute:)

    My brother and I have both walked in our sleep. The door bell would ring at 2:00 AM and my mom would answer the door to find my brother on the other side. Kind of scary! I used to (Like last year) sit up in bed and start yelling things (what my poor hubby had to go through). One time he was out of town and I was by myself (I HATE staying by myself) and was thinking about if someone were to break in, I could break through my window and run down to the hospital. Well, at about 11:00, I woke up with my head in the blinds and my window was broken. Scared the you-know-what out of me. I must of hit the window with my hand, arm, or even head (nothing hurt on me, so I don’t know exactly what broke the window, but I was definitely trying to escape.) Since I’ve left my teaching job, I haven’t experienced sleep walking or sitting up yelling while I’m sleeping. I didn’t think my old job was really that bad, but who knows?
    So, those are my strange stories of sleep walking.

  2. ‘Allo Shelbi,

    You have email. 😉

    Sleepwalking is kind of eerie. My brother used to sleepwalk, and my mother took it in stride until she found him in the front yard one night.

    After that she got a double key deadbolt for both doors so he couldn’t get out and hurt himself. He outgrew it when he was a teenager.

    Take care,
    Hedgehog

  3. Good Evening, Ms. Shelbi —

    Nice “digs” you’ve got working here. De-lurking for just a moment to say “Hi,” & G’Night. Time to try a little sleep walking myself. Your vignette reminds me of times past, but the lateness of the hour forbids exploring that. Maybe another time. ;>)

  4. Hey Robin, That’s a little freaky with the whole waking up with a broken window thing. Matthew [mine]is pretty, um, unique, but then with me as a mom, he was doomed, you know? He’s very sensitive, and very literal, so we have to be careful how we tease and stuff. I was the same way, and I remember being really hurt by people who weren’t trying to be mean, and it affected me for a long time. I’m hoping I can help him deal with stuff without being damaged, because it’s no fun trying to get over that crap.

    Hi Hedgehog, Glad you’re able to be up and around a little more. I hope you continue to improve, you’re in my prayers, always.

    ROF! Thanks for de-lurking and letting me know you’re still around! I always love to hear from you, so any stories are always welcome.

    E-mails and comments are always welcome and appreciated, so to anyone who stops by, feel free.

    WordPress automatically sends your first comment into moderation, but once I tell it to approve you, you should be able to comment any time after. At least I hope so. 😛

Leave a Reply

