Crap, I Lost My Google Spell Checker

Standard

*So forgive any typos.  I just switched to Firefox today, and I’m not sure if there’s a way to get a spell check put in this browser or not.  I don’t see one on WordPress, either, although that doesn’t necessarily mean it’s not here.  Grr.*

Now, back to our regularly scheduled Whatever.

I love our family’s dog, Sydney.  She’s a Miniature Australian Shepherd, and she’s a perfect addition to our family.  I even freak out and have a mini-breakdown when she gets sick, so I’m hopelessly hooked, you know?  But the dog has the worst and most frequent flatulence of any dog I’ve ever seen, er, smelled.

It’s probably the food we feed her [dog food only, the only people food she gets is what falls on the floor, which admittedly is significant, and one of the reasons we got her in the first place ;-)] but the first food we gave her made her skin flake off, so which is worse?  Dead skin all over the place, and probably an itchy dog, or stinky fart smell?

I dunno.  It’s kind of a toss-up.  I guess we should try a different brand of food and see if it helps, I just don’t know which one to pick first.  She’s still a puppy, so we kinda need a puppy food, don’t you think?

Oh well, I didn’t really come here to tell you that.  What I really want to talk about is this book I read today.  I’m still working on my erotic romance eBooks, and at some point I’ll be posting something about them, but right now, eBooks are still hard to read.

My ass goes numb.  You’d think it would do that anyway, given the sheer number of hours I sit blog hopping and whatnot, but I guess I move around more, because it doesn’t.

So the book I want to talk about is a print book [you gotta love portability.  PDAs and eBook readers are out of my budget, so being chained to the computer to read a whole book requires stamina…all that to say, I’m gettin’ to the eBooks, but it’s takin’ longer than I expected]

So anyway, the book, dammit.  I’m gettin’ to it!

Vincalis the Agitator

by Holly Lisle [which, I learned yesterday, is pronounced Lyle.  I’ve been pronouncing it right, which pleases me.  But I didn’t come here to tell you that, either.]

Vincalis is the prequel to the Sacred Texts Trilogy, the first of which I have read, but the library didn’t have the second two, so now, a year later, I’m waiting for Amazon to ship them [the ole tax return funded the purchase of several books this year :-P]

So anyway, I found Lisle through my research online of writer’s resources.  I was amazed at the website she maintains, and Forward Motion so I checked out one of her books at the library, and bought one of her new ones at the book store.

Without fail, I’ve enjoyed every book I’ve read by Lisle.  Talyn was hard to read, but not because of the POV shifts between first and third person [after the first one, you know what to expect, and it’s not that difficult].

What was hard for me was that Lisle made me care a lot for Talyn, made me respect her as a person, and then put her in a situation where she was helpless.

Heh.  I’ve always hated weak female characters, and Talyn wasn’t weak, but ended up helpless anyway.  After last night’s post, I guess I understand my discomfort a little better.  Sheesh.  I didn’t come here to tell you that either.

The thing is, Holly Lisle is an amazing writer.  When I pick up her books, I know I’m in for a good read.  I can lose myself in her work, and Vincalis the Agitator was no exception.  Her worldbuilding is flawless.  She makes me forget that I’m reading because she disappears, and I only see the world and the characters she has created.

That’s an awesome gift, one that not every writer has.  It’s one that I aspire to, but I know I’m not there yet.  So if you enjoy fantasy, get one of Lisle’s books.

And if you’re a writer, go to her online store and check out the eBooks she has for sale there.  I have Create a Character Clinic by Holly, and Way of the Cheetah, by Lynn Viehl and I highly recommend them both.
Cool stuff, people. And well worth the numb ass, let me tell ya!

Well, I have a pile of clean laundry on my bed, which means I can’t go to sleep until it’s gone, one way or the other.  My Dearly Beloved has decided that he should be playing a video game instead of folding the clothes [yes, I know it’s only fair since I’m on the computer, but it would have been nice if he’d volunteered to fold it out of the kindness of his heart!]

And, since it’s 2 in the morning as I post this, I’m thinking I’ve done enough damage for one night.

Peace.

About Shelbi

Work-at-home wife, mom of three kids, and caregiver for my brother, who has Cerebral Palsy. Never a dull moment, in other words. No idea how much I'll post, since I'm super busy these days, but maybe I'll get over here once in a while.

3 responses »

  1. But the dog has the worst and most frequent flatulence of any dog I’ve ever seen, er, smelled.

    I was gonna say — if you could see it, that really would be something special!

    I reviewed Holly Lisle’s Last Girl Dancing here. Not bad, but I suspect I’d like her non-romance stuff better. Her sex-from-a-man’s-POV scenes made me giggle.

  2. Shelbi,

    Kittens do the same thing with the Death Farts. 😉

    At some point they outgrow it, though. I think it is because they are maturing, like puppies, and may find it hard to digest their food the way older cats and dogs do.

    If the puppy doesn’t outgrow it, ask the vet. They can recommend types of food that will be easy on the skin and the nose.

    My little cat has food allergies too. We have to watch her like a hawk. She can only eat one kind of food without getting really sick, so she has to be kept away from everyone else’s food. But she’s doing a lot better now.

    By the way, you have email. 😉

    Hedgehog

  3. Thanks, Hedgehog, I got it.

    Hopefully you’re right about the Death Fart thing. She’s plumb raunchy! Oh well, she’s cute [muddy right now, though, and locked outside because I just don’t have the energy to wash her feet right now.

    Mad packing ensues. Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

