Jury Duty, Day 2

Standard

Well, it wasn’t quite as boring as yesterday, but I’m completely wiped out again. I think it’s a combination of stress from driving in the city, stress from trying to understand what the freaking lawyers are talking about, the fact that it’s 20 below inside the courtroom so I spend the whole day feeling cold [which aggravates my FMS pain].

Then there’s the driving for two hours, sitting for six hours listening to testimony. Well, it’s all pretty exhausting. So I’m tired.

I swiped Doug’s nighttime cocktail for sleep meds [OTC benadryl and melatonin]. He said it makes him fall asleep in about half an hour, so I have about 20 minutes. I suppose my insomnia isn’t as bad as it used to be. Kids kinda cured me of a lot of it, but it still takes me at least an hour, and usually 1 1/2 to 2 or 3, depending.

But, I can usually make up for it in the morning, because my kids have figured out how to do their own breakfast and they also know that if they let me sleep, they can play video games.

Yeah, that probably makes me a terrible mom, but I’d be worse if I didn’t get that extra hour or so of sleep. So, I’m coherent tonight, but just barely.

I haven’t read any blogs this week so far, so if you have big news, I’m not likely to know it until the trial is over [or if you e-mail me or comment here].

I hope you are all doing well. I am, in spite of being worn out. Jury duty is interesting sometimes, so it’s not all bad, and my fellow jurors are a nice bunch of people.

With that, I’ll say, “Good Night.”

About Shelbi

Work-at-home wife, mom of three kids, and caregiver for my brother, who has Cerebral Palsy. Never a dull moment, in other words. No idea how much I'll post, since I'm super busy these days, but maybe I'll get over here once in a while.

2 responses »

  1. You might consider keeping a “journal” of your observations & thoughts as a jury member (assuming that’s “legal” in Federal court). Perhaps not so much on the specifics of whatever trial you’re involved w/, but more about the people around you. I wish I had when I was on jury duty in county court a few years back; just to remind me that the memories I have of that time were real & not figments of my often fertile imagination. Had blogging been an option then, I think I would have written about my experience. Perhaps you will now.

  2. Hi ROF,

    That’s not a bad idea. They actually told us we could take notes on legal pads during the trial, but I figured I’d go off on some fictional tangent and be brainstorming my novel instead of listening to all the lawyers and accountants talking.

    Best not to take that chance! After tomorrow, I’m free to say whatever I want to about the case and whatnot. I probably will since I’ve enjoyed it, but parts are immensely frustrating and I probably need to vent a little. 😉 Hard to believe, I know. I never rant or vent about anything, do I? 😛

    I’ve been too tired to do much online, and I’m missing everybody, so thanks for stopping by again, ROF!

    Take care, I’ll be back in the swing of things again in a couple of days.

Leave a Reply

