Jury Duty, Day 3

Standard

We hear closing arguments tomorrow.  Then we deliberate, give them the verdict, and go home.  What an interesting experience, in a lot of ways.

I learned that even if I didn’t have three kids and no degree I more than likely could not work outside my home.  I hurt like hell, am exhausted, and generally feel like I need a week to recover from this.  Our hours have been easy [six hours with an hour for lunch], but I do have to drive for an hour and fifteen minutes each way, so that kicks it up to eight and a half hours [I think… is my math okay?].

Still, that’s typical shift length, and I think if I had to work it all the time, I wouldn’t be able to function outside of going to and from work.  That’s a little depressing.

Tomorrow, I’ll tell you what I really think of jury duty and our judicial system [or maybe Friday].  Steve and I watched V for Vendetta yesterday, and I can feel a blog entry coming on about it, but it’s not quite here yet.

Another entry is my take on Outfoxed: Rupert Murdoch’s War on Journalism.  I’d post a link, but my link poster appears to be broken.  You can Google it pretty easily, or just wait until I get around to posting my review 😮

Let’s see, what else?  I’m a little down in my mood right now, and I think it has to do with my fatigue level, but I’ve been thinking about Bushco, the war, and his statement that he won’t be the one pulling the troops out of Iraq.

I wanted to cry when I read that, because it seems like he doesn’t care at all about what’s right, only what he thinks we should do.  I wonder if maybe he’s legitimately off in the head with some kind of psychotic disorder thing going on?

His behavior in Iraq reminds me of a playground bully who refuses to listen to anybody and screams, “You’re not the boss of meeeee!!!!” From the top of the monkey bars or jungle gym, and pushes anyone off who gets close.

The man is truly frightening.  Um, well actually, the power he wields is frightening.  I only hope the American public wakes up to the truth and begins to show the president that we are his boss, and we don’t accept that kind of behavior on the playground.

More later, dear friends.

Oh, Doug’s cocktail works beautifully.  After I finally got Steve to let me go to sleep [he likes to play this stupid beepy game on his new phone, and it keeps me up… y’all thought I was talkin’ frisky stuff, din’t ya? 😛 ]

I fell asleep within probably fifteen to twenty minutes.  It could be the exhaustion from jury duty helped, but my brain didn’t run in circles for hours, so that was gooooood!

Okay, I’m really done now.

Leave a Reply

