The Day After… a day of rest for Shelbi

Standard

We have a quiz meet tomorrow, the last one of the year, which is a good thing. I’m a little tired of quizzing. I hope I get my enthusiasm back before we start up again in a few months!

Sunday, I’ll be ‘acting children’s director’ at church. The regular ones are going on vacation, and I agreed to be a sub for them. This is kinda one of those situations where you say yes mostly because it’s a friend asking, not necessarily because you want to.

I love kids, but I lack the patience to deal with them a lot. I deal with my own kids, and manage not to traumatize them, but I gave birth to them, and that makes it a little different, you know?

I can tell my own kids to leave me alone for a while and they know I still love them, but with other people’s kids, I get frustrated because when they have a crappy attitude, and I just want to smack ’em, and you can’t really smack other people’s kids [no, I don’t really smack my own, either. I used to, but my views on spanking are different now, so I don’t. Grounding works better anyway.]

So anyway, we have to get up before God in the morning, which sucks, but I did get to sleep late today [until after 11 a.m.!!!! Yay! Sleeping is my favorite thing, and I’ve been lacking sufficient this week.

After the quiz meet, we’re going to pick up the kids. Another yay. I talked to mom today, and she said they were really good [thank God!] Michaela kept Grandma entertained, so it was actually a good thing that they went down. I feel a lot better about the whole thing now.

Glory be, people! I actuall miss them! It takes six days, can you believe it? That’s just wrong, and I know it, but I’m with them always and forever, and getting away [or having them be away] is a much needed relief.

All in all, I’d say it was a good week, but I’m glad it’s over. I’m not as young as I used to be 😉 and big changes in my routine are hard to handle. The driving thing was pretty awful. Yesterday morning, I missed my turn and had to turn around and get back on the highway. Thank God it was at a place where I could turn around!

Wednesday, I missed a red light [as in, the light was red and I didn’t see it until I was in the middle of the intersection and had nearly missed a pedestrian… egad!] Down town Kansas City is all one-way streets. WTF is that about?!

Have I mentioned that I hate KC? Not the people, just the size of the place. It’s too big and it gives me the willies, big time. I grew up on a farm, for crying out loud! My entire school [K-12 mind you] consisted of 400 kids. Steve’s graduating class had that many kids! It’s a miracle I can function in this town [around 70,000] If we lived in KC, I’d never leave the house.

I don’t leave the house much anyway, but that’s neither here nor there.

Wednesday, when the lawyers ended their cases, I was pretty pissed off at our judicial system. I had the distinct impression that there was a lot more information than what they gave us, and I wasn’t sure the gov’t had given us enough evidence to convict him ‘beyond a reasonable doubt.’

When we began deliberations, we took a vote, and it was 8 guilty, 4 not-guilty. I said not-guilty at first because I wasn’t completely convinced, and also because I tend to give people the benefit of the doubt. Also, I was pretty sure he did it, I just wasn’t sure the gov’t had proven it.

I still wonder if he fully understood all the ins and outs of the transaction he was trying [and failing] to make. I didn’t know they could do this, but our job was to convict the man on whether he intended to file a false tax return, not whether or not he broke the law.

Isn’t that weird? I’ve been talking about how you can’t really judge somebody’s motive for months now, and that’s just what I did during the trial. It’s also why I hesitated to convict him at first.

He may not have fully understood what was going on, but they did prove that he was more than likely aware that the return he signed was false. Actually, he had lawyers telling him that the transaction wasn’t going to work and end up being tax deferred, and that’s what convicted him. Before he ever got audited, he knew it wouldn’t be tax deferred, and after the audit started, he still signed a personal return that was false.

I dunno what he was thinking, but then, I’m the world’s worst liar [by choice… I never wanted to develop the skill because I knew it would be too tempting to lie at some point. I figured it was better to tell the truth and face the consequences than to lie and risk getting caught.]

I also hate being lied to, and since I try to treat others the way I want to be treated… well, you get the picture.

It’s 10:35 now, and I need to get some sleep so I can be ready for the children and traveling in the morning, so g’night friends.

About Shelbi

Work-at-home wife, mom of three kids, and caregiver for my brother, who has Cerebral Palsy. Never a dull moment, in other words. No idea how much I'll post, since I'm super busy these days, but maybe I'll get over here once in a while.

Leave a Reply

