Well Don’t That Just Roast Your Pickle?

Standard

I’m beginning a blog entry knowing full well that Steve is gonna walk through the door any minute and we’re gonna have to leave.

We’re driving a bunch of hours today to go sign some papers on a consolidation loan that will consolidate two bills, reduce our payments by about $75, and reduce our interest from 11% to 6%. You really can’t beat that, now can you? [barring someone giving us the money and not asking us to pay it back, that is… and if you know anyone who’d like to do that, let me know, okay?]

Steve’s also getting a raise this month, so things are finally looking up a little in the finance area [yay!]

And of all things, my health is really starting to improve. I’m just taking my melatonin now instead of melatonin and half a sleep-aid tablet. I had stopped a while back, but started again because I was having a hard time falling asleep again. I’ve found, though, that the half tab of sleep aid is too much and I’m feeling drugged in the morning.

So night before last, I just took the melatonin again, and I woke up at 6:30 in the morning, which kinda pissed me off since I went to bed after midnight. I tried for an hour or so to go back to sleep, and finally managed it.

I slept until 9:30, which was about one extra hour of sleep, but still earlier than I was getting up when I was taking both the melatonin and sleep-aid. So it occurred to me that maybe I didn’t need to sleep quite as long as I used to.

When I woke up at 7:30 this morning, I gave up and got up. I’ve showered, done e-mail, drunk coffee, and relaxed, and all before my kids woke up. Okay, that’s a beautiful thing, people!

I’m still taking my new supplement, and this waking up at the crack of dawn crap started not too long after I started it. I’m in my fourth week of taking it. My eczema is still gone, and I’ve been washing my hands with soaps that used to cause breakouts within thirty minutes of touching it.

I’ve had a few days where I’ve literally run around all day, and after the day was over, didn’t think I was gonna die from the pain and exhaustion. It’s like I start moving, and the moving gives me more energy [which is what happens to normal people, but with fibromyalgia/chronic fatigue, you end up feeling a hundred times worse than when you started.]

Here’s another weird thing I’ve noticed: A month ago, I was eating the equivalent of 1/2 to 1 candy bar a day [we’ve got those Nestle mini’s, so I don’t know the exact amount compared to a full-size candy bar]. I was craving sweets more and more, and with hypoglycemia…

Okay, remember when I said I might have to leave any minute?  This is that minute. I’m gonna go ahead and publish, but I’ll finish this later.

About Shelbi

Work-at-home wife, mom of three kids, and caregiver for my brother, who has Cerebral Palsy. Never a dull moment, in other words. No idea how much I'll post, since I'm super busy these days, but maybe I'll get over here once in a while.

One response »

  1. You know what, if we consider the facts, melatonin as a sleep aid does work. Try dividing your melatonin doses and take only half of what you are currently taking, it might make the supplement more effective. Studies show that melatonin, when taken in excessive amounts doesn’t work long-term.

Leave a Reply

