Down the Rabbit Hole

Standard

I’d say I’m about six to eight feet down the Rabbit Hole, and since it’s probably endless, that’s not the greatest, although I suspect it’s about seven feet nine inches farther than 90% of the population.

That doesn’t mean I think I’m superior to anyone, only that a lot of people have no interest in what’s down the hole, others are afraid of what they’ll find, so they avoid it. Some don’t even realize there is a hole, and others know it’s there and are genuinely happy and feel no need to explore any further than what they see from the surface…and there’s nothing wrong with that.

Every person must find their own path, and I’m not here to judge anyone. I can only speak for myself, and I know that living on the surface is a miserable existence for me, so it’s down the hole I go.

I’m identifying with the Matrix a lot these days… you remember, right? Morpheus says:

You take the blue pill and the story ends.
You wake in your bed and you believe
whatever you want to believe.

You take the red pill and you stay
in Wonderland, and I show you how
deep the rabbit-hole goes.

Well, the red pill is a doozy, but it’s definitely worth it.

For me, the rabbit hole, or the red pill, has meant that I’ve stopped taking anyone’s word for it. No one is always right, so when I hear an opinion, I’ll listen to it, do some research for myself [looking at all sides if I can find them] weigh it against what my heart says, and develop my own opinion.

This way means spending significant amounts of time doing research, looking at different points of view [understanding that chances are better than good that everyone is wrong about something] and then thinking about it for a while before making my own decision about what rings true for me and what doesn’t.

I don’t really have the desire to go into all the negative things out there, partly because I’d rather spend my energy talking about the good stuff,  and partly because talking about the negative stuff just makes everything more negative [ick].

I am an adventurer, and nothing is sacred [nor is anything taboo]. I’ll go where ever the Rabbit Hole leads me, with joy, gratitude, excitement, and love.

Care to join me?

My time is up for today, but tomorrow I’ll share where the (w)Hole has led me so far!

Leave a Reply

