Okay, I Admit It…

Standard

I’m a sucker for the logical fallacy.  Not necessarily commiting them, but identifying them and debunking them whenever possible.  Which is why this website makes me so freaking happy!

I like this one a lot! I’m afraid I have done this one in the past, but now I giggle at it [don’t you?]

I have seen this one used a lot in church.  Dr. James Dobson tends to use this one a LOT in his arguments against homosexuality.  He seems to think that if same-sex couples are given the same rights as hetero-couples, then some day pedophiles wil be allowed to abuse children in freedom.

I’m fairly certain that’s a big fat fallacy, especially when you realize that gay and lesbian people are no more likely to be pedophiles than hetero- adults [in fact, I think the opposite may be true, but I’m too lazy to go look it up.. anyone with a link to that?]

Oy.

Here’s one that I am currently guity of when thinking about Dr. Dobson, though:

Since Dr. Dobson is wrong about homosexuality, none of his other beliefs are true either.  Therefore, everything he says about raising children is crap.

Can you figure out which fallacy that is?

I’m thinking it might be ad hominum abusive [or personal attack] or maybe poisoning the well?

I dunno, what do you think?  What’s your favorite logical fallacy to use?  Favorite one to catch others in?

About Shelbi

Work-at-home wife, mom of three kids, and caregiver for my brother, who has Cerebral Palsy. Never a dull moment, in other words. No idea how much I'll post, since I'm super busy these days, but maybe I'll get over here once in a while.

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Balls and Walnuts - more than you ever wanted to know » Crosseyed and Painless Thirteen

  2. Hey, now Doug! That’s just rude! [made me giggle though!]

    Actually, because he’s become so obsessed with abortion and homosexuality, I can’t really endorse anything he says anymore, even though I have several of his books.

    It still makes me sad sometimes, because I believe he’s a good man, with good intentions, who somehow got lost along the way.

    I’m hoping that he’ll wise up some time soon and realize that Jesus meant it when he told us not to judge others.

    Oy!

    Anyway, thanks for stopping by! [and for the link]

Leave a Reply

