Starting Over

Standard

So.  Here’s my life these days.  I’m preparing myself and the kids for school, me for college night classes, them for elementary school.

I’m going to do the night classes because they will enable me to stay at home with Michaela during the day, and still start my education working toward becoming a nurse practitioner.

It’s a strange thing, really, but with the realization and confidence that I really can do anything I set my mind to, I know I can also achieve my dreams… you know the ones.

Now some might mention the fact that I can’t become an Olympic gymnast at this late date, but the beautiful thing is, I don’t want to, so we’re good, you know?

I’m starting over with my dream of writing, though.  By that I mean that I’m in the throes [which are magnificent fun, by the way] of creating the world in which my characters live.  It’s occurred to me that part of my inability to finish a novel has been due to the fact that my world building has been nil.

Which means that once I get started, I lose steam because I don’t know enough about the world in which they live to have them continue to do cool stuff.  That sucks.  So I’ve got a couple of characters, one in particular, who I like a really lot.  I’ve resurrected him [I don’t know his name yet, but he’ll tell me that soon enough] and it turns out he has some friends I didn’t know about before.

Their world has magic in it, of course.  In all honesty, I can’t really imagine a world that doesn’t have some kind of magic in it.  I think it must be hardwired into my brain that people simply must have supernatural abilities.

There are also magical creatures, which is kind of depressing for me since I know next to nothing about mythical creatures.  It means lots of research for me, and lots of imagining, which of course is so not fun for me, what with me being the most even headed, pragmatic person who ever lived!  Bwahahaahaa.

I’m also working on building a language from scratch, and I’m afraid that there are going to have to be two fairly well-formed languages in this story, so it is some work, but I’m up for it.

The dream of writing kind of lost its luster after I realized just how much work it was going to be.  If there are any writers out there reading this, feel free to laugh your ass off, I’ll wait.

Still waiting….

Okay, welcome back!  So yeah, it’s a lot of work.  And I guess I always knew that, but I’d hoped it would be effortless for me [don’t take it personally, it’s not that I thought I would be better than anyone else, and that the stories of blood on the keyboards wouldn’t apply to me. I always hope everything will be effortless… but it never is.  Go figure].

But, hard work doesn’t scare me like it used to.  I’m actually looking forward to it now.  I think sometimes work is its own reward, and I’m learning to do the work just for the sake of working… that’s way too many ‘works’ in a sentence, eh? Oh well.

I’m having a blast creating words and creatures, taking ideas from a mythology book I got today and molding them to fit my world.  The language thing is actually fun, too.  It’s going to get very involved before it’s all over with, but I think it’s cool as hell.

So here I go!  Weeeeeee!!!

About Shelbi

Work-at-home wife, mom of three kids, and caregiver for my brother, who has Cerebral Palsy. Never a dull moment, in other words. No idea how much I'll post, since I'm super busy these days, but maybe I'll get over here once in a while.

Leave a Reply

