Thanksgiving Tomorrow.

Standard

So yesterday was a gorgeous and balmy 70 degrees here in northwestern Missouri, and today, it’s a whopping 33 degrees.  It’s freaking cold!  I hate cold weather.

The wind is literally beating the hell out of the side of my house, and it makes me cold to hear it.

My mom and dad are coming up for Thanksgiving today and leaving on Friday.  Yay!  I adore my parents.  They’re not perfect, and they irritate the hell out of me sometimes, but I absolutely love them.  My mom is doing much better, although not fully recovered from her nightmare last month.

Both Shaya and Matthew caused the school to call me yesterday, though.  Shaya’s been complaining of pain in her leg and hip, and she told her teacher that when she looks at the ceiling, she feels like she’s going to pass out.  Um.  When I look at the ceiling, I get dizzy, too, and so do a lot of other people.  In fact, I bet if you do it just right, you can make yourself pass out for real, simply because it’s bad to bend your neck back that far.

So anyway, I think I may have a budding hypochondriac on my hands, which bums me out, but isn’t surprising.  If my mom and I can both get a symptom just by thinking about it, I’m fairly certain that Shaya can, too.

Seriously, I can get a migraine just by thinking the night before, “I haven’t had a migraine in a while.”  Migraines hurt like hell and make me puke, so it’s not like I really want to have that kind of pain, but sometimes the thought crosses my mind [usually when I’m feeling stressed out and wanting a break] and the next day, I’m bedridden.

It would be brilliant if I was faking the headache, but no, it’s really there, so I get a day off, but I’m miserable.  So I think Shaya is having real pains, but I think her head is causing them.  And how do you stop that?  Counseling?  She’s nine.  That seems a little young to me for something that’s not life-threatening, but still, I don’t really know how to deal with it since I do the same thing, and can’t stop myself sometimes.

Ugh.

So Matthew got into trouble for inappropriate behavior in the lunch room.  He’s a dork, and loves toilet humor, and that’s all I’m saying about it, but it was a very frustrating day for me. 

Oh yeah, just in case there is something wrong with Shaya, I made an appointment to get a physical done, so if I’m wrong and there is a real illness, we’ll know it soon.  In the meantime…

We’re having Thanksgiving with both of our families on Thursday.  There will be anywhere from 10-15 people here, which doesn’t sound like a lot until you factor in the fact that our house is 927 square feet, and about 300 of that is our bedroom, and we don’t have enough chairs for everyone to sit in.

Maybe I should have nixed the idea of having it at our house, but Steve suggested it, and I went along with it because it means that we don’t have to travel 100 miles twice to see our families for Thanksgiving.  I’m a little stressed, though, and I’m depressed right now, so it should be fun.  heh.

About Shelbi

Work-at-home wife, mom of three kids, and caregiver for my brother, who has Cerebral Palsy. Never a dull moment, in other words. No idea how much I'll post, since I'm super busy these days, but maybe I'll get over here once in a while.

Leave a Reply

