I hate cold weather.

Standard

No, seriously.  I really hate cold weather.  It’s 29 degrees here, and the wind is blowing 21 miles an hour.  I’m supposed to leave for Bible study in fifteen minutes, but I’m dreading it.  I just got home a half hour ago, and I’m still cold from being outside a little bit ago.

My friend Lindsay and I took Shaya and Matthew to Cabela’s to wrap presents.  The kids in Shaya’s class at church somehow made contact with a homeless guy here in St. Joe, and they decided they wanted to do something for him.  So he said that he could really use a weatherproof tent.

There aren’t really any homeless shelters here, and there is basically a tent village down by the river where the homeless people live. 

So anyway, the kids’ teacher went to Cabela’s to ask them about getting a tent for Kenny, and they said that if the kids would come and wrap presents for a weekend, they would donate the tent.  Another guy at our church said that if the kids would commit to doing the present wrapping, then he would buy the guy a heater made especially for tents.

We had fun wrapping presents, and it was neat to tell the people there that we don’t work for Cabela’s but that the kids in our church had learned what the Christmas spirit is all about, so we were donating our time to help out our kids.

Honestly, though, it was an honor to help out.  It’s the kind of thing that Christians in general should be doing all the time, not just at Christmas.  It’s amazing because I still feel like crap from this stupid bronchitis, and I’m tired from getting up early, and I hurt because I stood up too long, but I feel really, really good.

I want to do more, and I think I need to find out how else I can help.

About Shelbi

Work-at-home wife, mom of three kids, and caregiver for my brother, who has Cerebral Palsy. Never a dull moment, in other words. No idea how much I'll post, since I'm super busy these days, but maybe I'll get over here once in a while.

Leave a Reply

